Posted in Introvert, Letters, London Diaries, New Beginning, Self, Self Love, Women

Embracing The Unknown

“You can call yourself a writer if you write stuff.”

My first class after 4 years, and this is what my professor says. I am over the moon. I write. I write stuff. Am I a writer? 

The irony is I still can’t call myself a writer. But this blog is not about my insecurities; it’s about the achievement of successfully moving to my dream country. It’s about the excitement of taking the first step toward my dream life. It’s about the nervousness while talking to new people and making new friends. It’s about all the mixed emotions that go through my mind all day long as I go about my day. And it’s about reaching my room at the end of the day and thinking, “Woah! I am in London, bro!”

As I approach being here in this foreign land for a month, I am giving myself time to process this significant change. 

We are a bunch of 20-something humans, as predictable as any other 20-something on this planet. romanticizing life either as a coping mechanism or for the algorithm. But sometimes, romanticizing things does not help us accept a change and move along the way. 

My mom always said we humans are like nomads. One day, we are somewhere and the very next poles away. 

A month back, I was still at home, eating with my parents, fighting with my sister, sleeping in my comfortable bed, and with everyone I loved within a few feet. Everything was comfortable and known. But now, within a month, not only have I shifted continents, but I eat most nights alone watching a random show on Netflix, I have no one to fight about what series we should repeat watching with, I sleep in a boisterous bed, and everyone I love is a 24-hour plane ride away. 

It took almost a month to process this. Hiding behind all the glamour and glitz of being in a new country, new environment, and new people was the painful realization that this ain’t a vacation, my friend! But now that it has hit getting out of it will be a bumpy ride. 

But I will do it! I will get over it, and I am not gonna back down.

As they say, “Now you know. And knowing is half the battle…” 

So, here goes nothing! 

I will wake up tomorrow at 4 am, listen to “Mahalaya” (a Bengali thing; use Google if you don’t know) for 2 hours and then sleep some more. After that, I will go about my just like I have planned. 

I have dreamt of this. I have planned this. And now I am doing it! 

Cheers to being afraid and doing it anyway! 

Another 20-something. 

Into the unknown

Author:

I tell the tales of my curls. Find me at www.instagram.com/_angiraaa

Leave a comment